​The Local Agency Formation Commission was created by the California Legislature in 1963 to discourage urban sprawl and encourage the orderly formation and development of local government agencies. There is a LAFCO in each county in California. San Luis Obispo LAFCO is a seven-member Commission comprised of two city council members (chosen by the City Mayors), two county supervisor members (chosen by the Board of Supervisors), two special district members (chosen by Independent Special District Selection Committee), and one public member (chosen by the members of the Commission).  San Luis Obispo LAFCO currently serves 52 local government agencies with 7 cities and 35 special districts and 10 dependent special districts (districts under the county Board of Supervisors). LAFCO's are responsible for evaluating annexations, the formation of districts, and the incorporation of cities. LAFCOs also establish a sphere of influence for each jurisdiction that plans for future growth of a jurisdiction.

Debbie Arnold, County Member, Supervisor, District 5December 2021                              
Roberta Fonzi, City Member, AtascaderoDecember 2021
Ed Waage, City Member, Pismo BeachDecember 2019
Marshal Ochylski, Special District Member, Los Osos CSDDecember 2022
Robert Enns, Special District Member, Cayucos San Dist.December 2020
Tom Murray, Public MemberDecember 2020

Lynn Compton, County Member, Supervisor, District 4

December 2019

John Peschong, County Member, Supervisor District 1December 2019
Steve Gregory, City Member, Paso RoblesDecember 2022
Ed Eby, Special District, Nipomo CSDDecember 2021
Heather Jensen, Public MemberDecember 2020


LAFCO Staff provides analytical support and informational services

for the Commission and the Public. Please call us at 805.781.5795

David Church, LAFCO Executive
Brian Pierik, LAFCO CounselBurke-Williams-Sorensen
Mike Prater, Deputy Executive
Imelda Marquez, LAFCO Commission